skip to Main Content
Association Of Women Surgeons: Opportunities And Awards

Association of Women Surgeons: Opportunities and Awards

The AWS Foundation has a variety of awards and career development opportunities that are presented on an annual basis.

  • Patricia Numann Medical Student Award
    • Named in honor of the founder of AWS, this award was established to encourage and support female medical students pursuing a career in surgery. The recipient is chosen based on their potential leadership qualities or research contributions to the field of surgery, response in a personal statement, and letter of recommendation. Nominees must be in the fourth / final year of medical school at the time of nomination and have demonstrated a commitment to pursuing a career in surgery.
    • Nomination deadline: May 31st, 2017
    • Award: Travel and Membership
  • Olga Jonasson Distinguished Member Award
    • This award is named in memory of Olga Jonasson, MD, who was the first female chair of an academic department of surgery and a leader in the American College of Surgeons. The award is given to an AWS member who, through outstanding mentorship, enables and encourages women surgeons to realize their personal and professional goals.
    • Nomination deadline: May 31st, 2017
  • Starr Medical Student & Resident Poster Contest
    • The Starr Poster Contest, named for Dr. Nina Starr Braunwald, is designed to facilitate interaction and idea exchange between students interested in surgery, surgical residents, and faculty members of various institutions. We invite medical students and residents to select their best work for presentation at the AWS Annual Conference.
    • Deadline: July 15, 2017 
Back To Top